Engrish

We’re back in Japan! Actually, we’ve been back for 4 or 5 months already but I’ve been lazy about starting up the blog again. 申し訳ありません。

There are three main differences for us this time around: We’re living in Tokyo actual, we’re sharehousing with a bunch of (mostly Japanese) people (check out the house), and I’m studying Japanese full-time (check out the school)!

I only recently replaced my broken camera, and I’ve been taking heaps of pictures, so I thought I would share some of the awesome Engrish I’ve encountered with everyone! Walking around Tokyo, you get the distinct impression that while use of English in signs and products seems to be popular, natural and/or accurate English is by no means a priority. Here are some examples.

You said it man.

Dry Hard! My friends didn't think this one was funny, but I like it. In my mind I always add "With a vengeance!"

It's the use of "when" that I love.

I completely understand how this mistake could happen. Still, you'd think you could crack a dictionary.

Sounds... delicious?

Ok this one has an explanation. There are a bunch of Japanese loan words taken from English. Sometimes they're even abbreviated when they're turned into Japanese. "Hea meiku" is an abbreviation of "hair and makeup". When Japanese people don't understand the origin of the loan word you end up with signs like this one.

You'd think that when it comes to deciding on something as important as the name of your business you could exercise a little caution.

The fortune Maddie and I both got last year. My favourite line... "Your wishes will not be realised." That put quite a damper on things.

3 Comments »

  1. Arwen Said:

    When the emergency comes I’ll be sure to have my jar of Creap for sustenance.

  2. Paula V Said:

    The apartment looks fabulous! Hope it doesn’t get too noisy with all the pool games 🙂
    Those pics were all so funny! My favourite is the ominously named “Dom dom dom”. I agree, that was a horrible fortune to receive. Not only will a fire break out up to the heavens, but you’ll be trapped because when you escape you’ll reach a massive river without a boat to cross! Maybe there’ll be a bridge?

  3. Kim Said:

    Mmm creamy crap powder…. Wait a minute!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

